Spring Cleaning Your Social Media Accounts

Spring is almost here!

snowdrops-3178105_640.jpg

Sunshine is peeking through, flowers are thinking about poking their heads out.  It's Springtime! For many of us that means its time to open the windows, dust the high shelves and freshen up around the house.  While your doing that, you should take a few minutes to do the same with your social media accounts.

Why you should clean out your social accounts?

Over time we install new apps on our phone or try out a new service on the web. Often we click the "Sign in with Facebook" or "Login with Twitter" button.  Its so much easier than creating a whole profile.  But each time you do that you are connecting that app or website to your social media account.  If you stop using the service or app, it stays connected and eventually we forget that we ever clicked that little button.

Eventually, you can wrack up quite a list of  connected accounts (my Facebook account has had hundreds!) and if you don't occasionally clean them out, you are leaving yourself open to possible security problems or at the very least, providing data to people you didn't intend to.

Luckily, it is extremely easy to open up the windows and clean out those old account connections.

Here we go!

Facebook

  • Login to your Facebook account on the web and click the small triangle on the right side of the blue bar at the top of the screen. Choose "Settings" (near the bottom of the menu).
  • On the left hand side of the screen, choose "Apps" (near the bottom again). A list of your connected apps will appear
  • Any apps you see that you don't remember or know for sure that you no longer use are safe to remove. 
  • Hover over the app you'd like to remove and click the "X" in the upper right corner of the highlighted box.
  • A pop-up will appear for you to confirm your choice.  Click the blue "Remove" button.

The worst case scenario is that you remove something you still need.  If that happens, you just return to the app that you deleted and try to login.  You will be prompted to reconnect your Facebook account.

Twitter

  • Login to your Twitter account on the web and click on your profile picture in the upper right corner of the screen (next to the big "Tweet" button) and choose "Settings & Privacy".
  • In the left hand menu scroll down and choose "Apps".  All of your connected apps will appear in a list.  
  • Find any apps you'd like to remove and click the "Revoke access" button.

Linkedin

  • Login to your LinkedIn account and click the profile picture in the top right corner then choose "Settings & Privacy". This will open a new tab in your browser.
  • In the new tab, choose "Partners and Services" from the left hand menu.
  • Click on "Permitted Services" and a list will appear showing all of your connected apps.
  • Find the apps you would like to remove and click the "Remove" link to the right of the app name.

Conclusion

We recommend that folks do this twice a year just to keep things clean.  Connected accounts make it really easy to login to your favorite apps and websites and to do things like post to your Facebook account from another website.  But eventually we all move on from an app or service.  Following these steps will help you keep those important social accounts clean and tidy.